Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
lowflyr

Joystick not being read - My fix

3 posts in this topic

I have just read several forums regarding why joysticks are not being read due to problems with keyboards. The reason being; this last week I got a new machine compete with a G15 Logitech keyboard and experienced the same problem; WWIIOL would not read the throttle, joystick or pedals. (I too have the CH Products controllers)

I know SgtSpoon, one of my programming heros had a great explaination on what it happening and some possible solutions. The one I don't like playing with is disabling hid drivers...I am a novice and scared to death of tweaks. What I did try, and it worked was; I disconnected my G15 and plugged in a ps2 standard old keyboard, fired up the computer, sure enough the controllers were recognized. So I thought, what if I kept the computer on, the old keyboard plugged in and plugged in the G15.....I still had recognition of the controls in WWIIOL and full function of the G15. I just keep the old keyboard plugged in and out of the way.

Now I know, this is a pain (unplugging / plugging in the G15) each start up, but at least I have the controllers and my G15 working. Maybe this is yet another clue to help resolve the dilema and get a fix.

Lowflyr

it's harmless...

can't hurt or damage anything at all. I promise you....

all a hid is, is a little memory resident program that assigns a user defined macro or keystroke to a usb devices key or button. for joysticks, it's the profile where you assign a keystroke to a joystick button, same on the mouse, on the keyboard, it'll be a "media key" like "internet", "play", "volume +", "mail", "homepage", ect. it's for it's that simple...