Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
leparc

To MAC or Not to MAC...

45 posts in this topic

BE crap on a mac then?

My mac is not an exceptional example for I only have 1GB of RAM loaded and my video card is crap. If you spec it out correctly (Radeon 9700 and 4GB RAM) you can game to your hearts content.

It all depends on what you like to do to. I avoid heavy city combat for more ATR and Sniper recon-combat. Flying is pretty good too on my computer, despite it being inferior.

The mac won't ever be as good as the comparable PC, but if you're willing to give up a little of the gaming potential, you'll never regret all the other things it can do.

Plus, Macs handle pr0n better than PCs!

I love PC because you can build it yourself!

But I work as a Service Tech for apple so I work on Macs...they're cool......for my grandma.

I keed.

I'm on a 2+ year-old Macbook Pro (17", 2.33 duo, 3GB ram, 256MB x1600 card, 7200RPM drive), and my performance isn't too terribly bad. 10-20 FPS in some of the largest battles, but typically in the 20-30 range. Upwards of 50-60+ in the air or open sea. Heavy trees are what hurts me the most, dropping me down to the low single digits range at times.

I used a PC (or non-Mac) all my life, from the C-64 to the C-128, to 386, 486 DX2 (TURBO button, yeah baby!), the full range of pentiums from DOS and windows 3.11 to XP.....but settled on a Mac (mostly for work; not gaming as much these days) and there's not a damn thing I miss about PCs.

.....except for the ability to manipulate files in the Finder beyond simply adding a new folder (you know, rename, move things around, delete, etc).

If I had to buy a new system, even for WW2OL, I wouldn't think twice before buying another Mac.

i play mostly on a g5 mac 2.30 ghz 2 gb and a atix800somethingGT and it works helluva fine, 30/40 fps while flying, 10 in crowded fights and 70 up at 7k! but this is an old rig, with something like 4gb ram and a better video card you'll get 70 fps anywhere.