Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
gman13

Overclocking your processor???

51 posts in this topic

Have seen where many articles state that this game more than any seems to depend on your processor speed than anything else. With this i am a complete noob, have never had a need to do this, but if it means gaining some much needed fps (as were all having trouble doing that) i'm willing to overclock my processor a tad, nothing crazy. But problem is, i'm in the dark about this overclocking, is there a "easy way" or some kind of software or tool out there that can do this for you relatively easy, need some serious input on this matter & hopefully the easiest way to achieve it.

Go to your motherboard manufacturers website and see if they're are any tools or dicussions going on about your particular motherboard and overclocking it. Or google it. Overclocking is board dependent and CPU dependent.

For my system I have an EVGA X58 board with an i7 920 Quad @ 4.0Ghz, the overclock helps a lot in FPS. I'm still trying to figure out the best parameters for 1.31 though.

P-

There is NO reason whatsoever to be overclocking any dual-core or quad-core CPU for this game. Unless you enjoy CTD's, than have at it. Overclocking was really made for single CPU's but with Dual-Core you litterally have 2 CPU's sharing the load. Quad-core is 4

There's a rule called "Moores Law" that CPU clock rates cannot go higher that a certain rate. So multi-cores share the load.

A quad core can run WWIIOL while doing some Photoshop editing and maybe doing some recording with Protools.

It aint the CPU people, it's the GPU, the RAM, the connectivity and the hard drive that are the main culprits for onlne gamers.

Overclocking aint going to do doodie for you with this game.

Edited by dunlop

Actually made a huge difference for me.