Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
miketh2005

New Player Here, Trying To Wrap My Head Around This Game...

28 posts in this topic

I swear this is all a prank. I'm being pranked by my friends, I swear this game is not real. I can't wrap my head around this concept, if what my friend told me about this is true. He says this is just like real life war, where you spend 8 hours to kill 3-4 guys. Mostly just waiting around doing nothing. Nothing. Isn't that boring? I don't understand this. A game is supposed to be fun, the more fun, the better. Not boring, not waiting, not doing nothing. Not guarding a door for 8 hours.

I'm literally crying from the horror this guy is telling me about this game, and I never cry at all, because I don't allow things bother me. My girlfriend breaks up with me after 3 years, I'm a little distraught, but I continue on a day later, I don't cry. But this is different. It defys all logic. Why? Because as a game designer, I've spent most of my life understanding how things work, what people what, what makes things fun. This game... This game shoves everything I've learned and shoves it up my ***. This is beyond all human nature, this game. I can't understand it....

The realism? Okay, I can understand to a certain degree, why people would like realism. But NOT, just NOT when it makes a game boring. People like satisfaction, it's what makes games, games. The satisfaction of accomplishing something. My friend told me, he'd spend a whole day fighting to capture a bunker and the next day it'd be taken over again. That's not satisfaction. It's a freakin game, guys! A game! It shouldn't require endless devotion like this guy is telling me about. I just dont understand it. Please try to explain yourselves to me, it will help me sleep better at night. I doubt I will ever be able to sleep again without knowing what makes people do this. Please tell me.

Thanks.