Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
gav00

WW2 era weapons

16 posts in this topic

I took a trip around various battlefields in France, Germany and Belgium a few years ago and managed to buy the metal remains of a German K98 rifle. I purchased it just a few meters away from where it was found in a hedgerow.

Various components of the firing/loading mechanisms have been worked to a shine, which (to me at least) says it has been fired a fair few times, though unfortunately the bolt is missing.

Just to the side of where the bolt would be, is a chunk of metal which looks as though it could be the mounting for a telescopic sight (though I am no expert). This metal mounting is fairly thick but has been snapped clean off.

I have the remains of the rifle on display and often look at it and reflect upon the countless stories which could be associated with it.

Does anyone else have any WW2 era weaponry?

I took a trip around various battlefields in France, Germany and Belgium a few years ago and managed to buy the metal remains of a German K98 rifle. I purchased it just a few meters away from where it was found in a hedgerow.

Various components of the firing/loading mechanisms have been worked to a shine, which (to me at least) says it has been fired a fair few times, though unfortunately the bolt is missing.

Just to the side of where the bolt would be, is a chunk of metal which looks as though it could be the mounting for a telescopic sight (though I am no expert). This metal mounting is fairly thick but has been snapped clean off.

I have the remains of the rifle on display and often look at it and reflect upon the countless stories which could be associated with it.

Does anyone else have any WW2 era weaponry?

Should post some pics of it. I love relics.

As far as folks with WWII weaponry there are tons on here. What are you wanting to see?

Yeah I should take some snaps of it some time.