firebugs

Rifle ballistic coefficients

22 posts in this topic

Mostly a place-holder. I have 5-7 years of long-range shooting experience both in the Marine Corps, and outside of it in competitive long-range/precision shooting. Additionally I own (at least some variant) of many of the rifles and munitions used in this game. This post is in the interest of realism and historical accuracy because I believe that is one of the key points of the game and every attempt should be made to have these weapons perform as they did (do) in the real world.

Current G1 ballistic coefficients (either info given to me by GOPHUR or what I've found via testing).

K98k/G41/G43- .210

No.4/Bren/.303 aircraft and co-ax brownings- .251

MAS 36/MAS40/FM29/7.5x54mm aircrat and coax MG's- .309

MG34/Fg42 and coax/plane 7.92x57mm MG's- .31ish (tested only)

M1903a3/M1903a4/M1 Garand/BAR- .20ish (tested only)

Obviously there is some disparity here as the ballistic coefficient is bound purely to the bullet (and is somewhat dependent on its velocity, but for what I'm talking about, the difference in velocity between two different weapon platforms firing the same ammunition has a pretty negligible effect on ballistic coefficient difference). So we have, for example, the K98k, G41, G43, Mg34, and Fg42 that all fire exactly the same ammunition (same bullet), but have two drastically different ballistic coefficients being used-- Both of which are entirely too low.