firebugs

For the next infantry weapon overhaul

11 posts in this topic

I just started playing again recently after a couple years of on/off due to garbage internet service and work and pursuing a mechanical engineering degree.  There are a few things I've noticed that could use a once-over-- some of them have been around for a long time.

- K98 zf39 and No.4 mk1(T) reloading via clips through the scope.

This was a shortcut taken when the sniper class was first introduced into the game to get the patch out before whatever year's Christmas it was.  Both of these rifles should reload like the Lebel and M1903a4 currently do, 1 round at a time into the top of the magazine.

-G43 Reload is too fast

-MG34 Reload is entirely too fast

- Sniper scope drops while moving

I don't know why/when this was changed but it's garbage.  I have a couple WWII era sniper rifles and I'd be happy to give a live-fire demonstration video on how they can be used while walking forward, just like open-sighted rifles

-SMG accuracy is hideous.

What is going on is there is a really wide cone of fire (dispersion) applied to the weapon in general, along with some recoil effects.  What it should be is a small cone of fire with some recoil effect.  These style weapons are literally the easiest thing to control and deliver accurate (albeit close-range) fully automatic fire.  I was issued an Mp5 for 2 years and we would routinely dump 30 round magazines into a torso target at 25m in one continuous burst during training.  Pure mechanical accuracy of the system should be no worse than about a fist-sized group at 25m-- ANY other dispersion is from automatic recoil.  Taking single shots or small bursts should be deadly effective to 100-150m.  What currently happens is about the same "spread" whether you fire single shots, small bursts, or one continuous burst.  That's not right.

-Pistol accuracy is pretty loose