Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
renesis

PC and Mac, Should the game look the same?

33 posts in this topic

I used to play WWII Online on a PC with an ATI 9700 Pro.

I currently am playing on a Mac. G5 dualcore 2.3 PPC 1.5 GB DDR2 NVIDIA GeForce 6600 256 MB.

Should the graphics and effects look the same? On the PC they looked great with that haze effect it looked real good. On the Mac it looks like it used to when WWII Online first came out. No haze effect, the builtings look bland. Can anyone tell me if it should look the same on both platforms? I am new to Macs and it may be a setting or maybe a limitation of the video card I have, I just don't know.

Thanks in advance for any reply.

renesis

check my settings document in the sticky

http://discussions.playnet.com/showthread.php?t=98188

you might need to turn some things on to get better look. There are a few differences on different video cards and a few things aren't functional on a mac (like flag waving) but in general you should get similar results. If you can post a screenshot of each it would be useful so we can see what's odd.

Both versions use openGL for video. PC uses DirectX sound, Mac uses openAL sound.

However there are extensions to openGL which are different on different implementations and video cards.

I'll try the settings from the sticky and if it still looks wierd I will post screen shots from both. How do you do get the screenshot from tha MAC? is it the same key?

Thanks

How do you do get the screenshot from tha MAC? is it the same key?

I remapped it F13, or "Print Screen" as labled on the key, so it required very little thought to quickly take screenshots when a Kodak© moment appeared.

By all means, please post some shots! I'm interested to see the difference myself having not played on a PC...

I will be posting pics soon, I've been real busy.